June 24, 2024 10:17:17 booked.net

MCD Results Live Update: AAP surges ahead, wins 92 seats; BJP has got 73 seats so far

Results declared by the State Election Commission (SEC) for the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) polls show that the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has clinched 92 seats, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has gotten hold of 73. The MCD has 250 wards, and a party needs 126 to win.

The Congress has managed to stake a claim over four seats. Interestingly, three of these wards were won by the AAP in 2017. Meanwhile, Independent candidate Shakeela Begum has won the Seelampur seat.

This was the first election after the MCD was reunified earlier this year. The polls, which took place on December 4, saw a voter turnout of only 50.48% — just over 73 lakh people from the total of 1.45 crore eligible voters. Data shared by the Delhi State Election Commission shows that upscale neighborhoods of South Delhi saw the lowest voter turnout in the municipal polls. Rural pockets and parts of Northeast Delhi, where riots took place in 2020, saw the highest polling percentages.

Two more wins for BJP

BJP’s Babita has won the Nangal Thakran seat. One of the villages in the ward with over 3,000 voters had boycotted the polls.

Meanwhile, Yogita Singh won from Kalkaji. She is the President of Delhi BJP Mahila Morcha.

AAP wins three more seats

AAP candidate Manju Devi has won the Badarpur seat, while Tilotima Chaudhary has won the Dabri seat. Pinky Tyagi, meanwhile, bagged the Chattarpur seat.

AAP has destroyed the 15-year-old fortress of BJP: Sanjay Singh

As AAP surges ahead in the MCD polls, Rajya Sabha MP Sanjay Singh said that the party has ‘destroyed the fifteen-year-old fortress of the BJP’.

“On one side, BJP’s national president, PM Narendra Modi, and Amit Shah’s faces, 17 Union ministers, 8 Chief Ministers, and the world’s biggest political party were contesting elections. On the other hand, Delhi’s son, Delhi’s beloved Chief Minister, Arvind Kejriwal, was fighting. BJP would always say one thing: “Congress ko haraya, humko nahi haraya” (They have defeated Congress, not us). Today, Arvind Kejriwal has cured the pain of the BJP. Today, Arvind Kejriwal and the Aam Aadmi Party have demolished the 15-year-old fortress. The people of Delhi have responded to the dirty politics of the BJP with their votes in full strength,” Singh said.

MCD polls: AAP wins 83 seats, BJP 65

The results of 153 seats have been declared so far. Here’s how the parties have fared:

  • AAP – 83
  • BJP – 65
  • Congress – 4
  • Independent – 1