June 25, 2024 04:25:15 booked.net

Karim Benzema Has Become the Fifth Frenchman to Win Ballon d’Or Award!

The Frenchman became the only second player aside from Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo to win the award since 2008. Benzema’s Real Madrid team-mate Luka Modric won the prize in 2018. Benzema was presented with the first Ballon d’Or at a lavish ceremony at Theatre du Chatelet in Paris, France.

What Is Ballon d’Or? Why Is This Award So Prestigious?

The Ballon d’Or (Golden Ball) was an annual association football award presented to the world’s best men’s player from 2010 to 2015. Awarded jointly by FIFA and France Football, the prize was a unification of the World Player of the Year award and the Ballon d’Or,- the two most prestigious individual honors in the world of football.

History of the Award

The Ballon d’Or, organized by the France Football magazine is awarded annually to the world’s best footballer who was cut above the rest and stood out with their impeccable performances over the previous year.

Instituted in 1956, the Ballon d’Or award was initially considered the European Footballer of the Year award as it was only open to European players at European clubs.

However, the rules for eligible winners of the Ballon d’Or award were amended when AC Milan’s George Weah became the first non-European Ballon d’Or winner in 1995.

Since 2007, the eligibility to win the Ballon d’Or award has been expanded to all players coming from different continents or countries.

Between 2010 and 2015, the France Football magazine and FIFA formed a partnership where the Ballon d’Or would unify with the FIFA World Player of the Year award to be known or named officially as the FIFA Ballon d’Or.

In 2018, the France Football magazine has also introduced the Ballon d’Or Feminine award for the best woman football player in the world.

Due to the disruption in the sports industry in 2020 caused by the coronavirus pandemic, there was no award given in 2020.

However, the most recent winner is Lionel Messi in 2021. Messi has won the men’s Ballon d’Or award seven times while Cristiano Ronaldo has won the award five times.

People Who Got Ballon d’Or

2022   Karim Benzemais France     Real Madrid

2021   Lionel Messi  Argentina       Paris Saint-Germain F.C.

2019   Lionel Messi  Argentina       Barcelona

2018   Luka Modric   Croatia           Real Madrid

2017   Cristiano Ronaldo     Portugal          Real Madrid

2016   Cristiano Ronaldo     Portugal          Real Madrid

2015   Lionel Messi  Argentina       Barcelona

2014   Cristiano Ronaldo     Portugal          Real Madrid

2013   Cristiano Ronaldo     Portugal          Real Madrid

2012   Lionel Messi  Argentina       Barcelona

2011   Lionel Messi  Argentina       Barcelona

2010   Lionel Messi  Argentina       Barcelona

2009   Lionel Messi  Argentina       Barcelona

2008   Cristiano Ronaldo     Portugal          Manchester United

2007   Kaká   Brazil  Milan

2006   Fabio Cannavaro      Italy      Real Madrid

2005   Ronaldinho     Brazil  Barcelona

2004   Andriy Shevchenko   Ukrain Milan

2003   Pavel Nedvěd            Czechia          Juventus

2002   Ronaldo          Brazil  Real Madrid

2001   Michael Owen            England          Liverpool

2000   Luís Figo        Portugal          Real Madrid

1999   Rivaldo           Brazil  Barcelona

1998   Zinedine Zidane        France            Juventus

1997   Ronaldo          Brazil  Internazionale

1996   Matthias Sammer     Germany        Borussia Dortmund

1995   George Weah            Liberia            Milan

1994   Hristo Stoichkov        Bulgaria          Barcelona

1993   Roberto Baggio        Italy      Juventus

1992   Marco van Basten     Netherlands   Milan

1991   Jean-Pierre Papin    France            Marseille

1990   Lothar Matthäus        Germany        Internazionale

1989   Marco van Basten     Netherlands   Milan

1988   Marco van Basten     Netherlands   Milan

1987   Ruud Gullit      Netherlands   Milan

1986   Igor Belanov   Soviet Union  Dynamo Kyiv

1985   Michel Platini France            Juventus

1984   Michel Platini France            Juventus

1983   Michel Platini France            Juventus

1982   Paolo Rossi   Italy      Juventus

1981   Karl-Heinz Rummenigge      West Germany          Bayern Munich

1980   Karl-Heinz Rummenigge      West Germany          Bayern Munich

1979   Kevin Keegan            England          Hamburg

1978   Kevin Keegan            England          Hamburg

1977   Allan Simonsen         Denmark        Borussia M”nchengladbach

1976   Franz Beckenbauer  West Germany          Bayern Munich

1975   Oleg Blokhin  Soviet Union  Dynamo Kyiv

1974   Johan Cruyff   Netherlands   Barcelona

1973   Johan Cruyff   Netherlands   Barcelona

1972   Franz Beckenbauer  West Germany  Bayern Munich

1971   Johan Cruyff   Netherlands   Ajax

1970   Gerd Müller    West Germany  Bayern Munich

1969   Gianni Rivera Italy      Milan

1968   George Best  Northern Ireland   Manchester United

1967   Flórián Albert Hungary          Ferencv rosi TC

1966   Bobby Charlton   England     Manchester United

1965   Eusébio          Portugal          Benfica

1964   Denis Law      Scotland         Manchester United

1963   Lev Yashin     Soviet Union  Dynamo Moscow

1962   Josef Masopust         Czechoslovakia         Dukla Prague

1961   Omar Sívori    Italy      Juventus

1960   Luis Suárez    Spain  Barcelona

1959   Alfredo Di Stéfano    Spain  Real Madrid

1958   Raymond Kopa         France            Real Madrid

1957   Alfredo Di Stéfano    Spain  Real Madrid

1956   Stanley Matthews      England          Blackpool

Winner 2022!

Overall, 30 nominees for the 2022 Ballon d’Or award were announced in August. Seven-time winner Lionel Messi was not on the list (for the first time since 2005), though Ronaldo did cut. The ceremony announcing the winners was held on October 17 at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris. Madrid’s Karim Benzema has emerged as the winner.