June 25, 2024 05:23:09 booked.net

Four Phases Of Life In Sanatana Dharma

• What Is Sanatana Lifestyle?

Sanatana dharma consists of virtues such as honesty, refraining from injuring living beings, purity, goodwill, mercy, patience, forbearance, self-restraint, generosity, and asceticism. The key to the revival of Sanatana Dharma is the transformation of Schools into Gurukulas and Teachers into the divine Gurus and thus the Guru-Shishya Prampara.

Until our teens our mother is the first guru, who gives foundation to our being, hence education of a girl in our value system is very essential. A lot of people today boast of self-taught Gurus. However, we will know that without a true Guru you cannot get true knowledge. Now people are confused as to how to identify a true Guru. But it is not very difficult.

Sanatana Dharma is a term used for religions based on rebirth. So it is applied to Jainism, Buddhism, and Hinduism. These religions emerged in the Gangetic plains in the second millennium BCE and spread across the Indian subcontinent.

• Human Have To Pass 4 Stages Of Life In Sanatana

– Brahmacharya – Student Phase:

This is a period of taking formal education from a guru about art, warfare, science, philosophy, scriptures, etc. Previously, the average lifespan was considered 100 years so this phase is the first quarter or 25 years. At this phase, a young male leaves home to stay in gurukul with a guru and attain both spiritual and practical knowledge. During this period, he is called a Brahmachari and is prepared for his future profession.

– Grihastha – The Married Family

It is the second quarter of one’s life (25-50 years of age) that begins when a man gets married and undertakes the responsibility of earning a living raising kids and supporting his family. At this stage, Hinduism supports the pursuit of wealth (artha) as a necessity, and indulgence in sexual pleasure (kama), under certain defined social and cosmic norms. During this stage children of this man are in the Brahmacharya phase.

– Vanaprastha – Retirement Stage:

This stage of a man begins when his duty as a householder comes to an end. This is the third phase of life (51-75 approximately).  The person handover the responsibilities to the next generation. He has become a grandfather, his children are grown up, and have established lives of their own. At this age, he gives up his wealth, security, and sexual pleasures. At this time, the previous generation enters the Grihastha phase. He is allowed to take his wife along but is supposed to maintain little contact with the family.

– Sanyasa – The Wandering Recluse:

In his stage, the man gives up every material desire and detaches himself from all the material relationships. He is supposed to be devoted to God. He is a sanyasi, he has no home, no other attachment; he has renounced all desires, fears, hopes, duties, and responsibilities. He is virtually merged with God, all his worldly ties are broken, and his sole concern becomes attaining moksha or release from the circle of birth and death.