June 15, 2024 11:39:26 booked.net

10 Avatars Of Lord Vishnu!

Bhagwan Vishnu incarnated every time to protect Dharma. Here are the 10 avatars of Lord Vishnu i.e. Dashavatar.

  • The 1st Avatar of Vishnu is Adi Purush Avatar

Lord Vishnu took his 1st Avatar as the pre-eminent man Adi Purush Avatar, with a desire to commence creation. This first incarnation of Lord Vishnu was full of all the sixteen Kalas (Supernatural powers).

  • The 2nd Avatar of Vishnu is Four Kumaras

Lord Vishnu’s 2nd Avatar was the Four Kumaras namely: Sanaka, Sanandana, Sanatana, and Sanat Kumara are traditionally the four mind-born sons of Lord Brahma. Famous throughout the Puranic literature, they are found also in the Upanishads. They are renowned yogis.

  • The 3rd Avatar of Vishnu is Varaha Avatar

Lord Vishnu took his 3rd Avatar as a boar. In this incarnation, Lord Vishnu rescued the earth which had submerged in the ocean, and brought it out from the ocean. The whole creation started only after that.

  • The 4th Avatar of Vishnu is Narada Avatar

Lord Vishnu took his 4th Avatar as Narada. Narada by becoming a ‘Devarishi’ among all the sages, achieved liberation from all of his Karmas. Narada was the one who gave discourses to the Vaishnavas (followers of Lord Vishnu) on ‘Pancharatra Tantra’.

  • The 5th Avatar of Vishnu is Nara – Narayana Avatar

Lord Vishnu took his 5th Avatar as sage Nara-Narayan by taking birth from the womb of a woman named ‘Kala’. He performed a tremendous penance by going to Badri and Kedar. He showed the importance of Penance (Labour), and also that nothing can be achieved in this world without it.

  • The 6th Avatar of Vishnu is Kapila Avatar

Lord Vishnu’s 6th Avatar was sage Kapila. The objective of this incarnation was to compile all the divine knowledge that had been destroyed. He was the pro-founder of Sankhya Shastra (rationalism) which helped the Brahmins, who had forgotten their duties to rectify their mistakes. 

  • The 7th Avatar of Vishnu is Dattatraya Avatar

Lord Vishnu’s 7th Avatar was Dattatraya. He was born to Ansuya and his father was Sage Atri. He was the one who had given Spiritual Knowledge to King Alarka and Prahlada. He had twenty-four teachers. 

  • The 8th Avatar of Vishnu is Yajneshwara Avatar

Lord Vishnu in his 8th Avatar as Yagya was born to Prajapati and Akuti. He had rescued a ‘Devagana’ named Yama and also the Manvantar named ‘Swayambhuva’.

  • The 9th Avatar of Vishnu is Rishabh Avatar

Lord Vishnu in his 9th Avatar as Rishabh Dev was born to king Nabhi and Marudevi. His mother Marudevi was the daughter of Indra.

  • The 10th Avatar of Vishnu is Prithu Avatar

Lord Vishnu in his 10th Avatar as ‘Prithu’ came into existence after the body of King ‘Vena’. Lord Vishnu took this incarnation as per the wishes of the sages.